PATTERN THAT CREEPS LIKE IVY

I’ve never thought about whether I have a design hero as such. But if I had to pick one, I think I might pick Gio PontI. This is one of Gio PontI’s rooms. Ponti was considered one the godfathers of Italian design during that very busy time in the life of Italian design – from the 1930’s to the 1970’s. His prolific output resulted in the production of many things that are still being manufactured today, but one of the things Ponti did better than anything or anyone, was pattern. He made it ooze all over the place. Pattern that creeps like ivy over walls, floors, ceilings, everything.

Gio Ponti working in his studio. Seeing this makes me want to get out my pencil crayons and a pile of beautiful paper.

In 1929, he designed and became editor of his own magazine, Domus. His typography was beautiful.

Love this portrait.

PHOTO: ELLE DECORATION   Photographer: Antonia Steyn. Production: Anna Loubser.

This diningroom makes me think of Ponti. I’m sure he’d have approved. Designed by the Elle Deco team using products by Freeworld Coatings for The Room, ‘Outdoor Issue’ Dec 2012. The trippy perspective is clever. If you defocus your eyes, the table and the wall appear to melt into each other.

Jenna Lyons' bathroom. Photo: http://www.lonnymag.com

This bathroom also looks Ponti-inspired. From the buzzy eclectic New York home of J Crew President, Jenna Lyons.

HAPPY CONTENT BY KURT PIO

I say thanks to my friend Alexis Roberts for showing me these wonderful paintings with a twisty take on the iconic Penquin look. She tracked them down from Kurt Pio, who is an amazing Cape Town fine artist and also a milliner. http://kurtpiomillinery.withtank.com/home/

They’re biggies. Plus minus a metre or so deep. I think a collection of them (or hey, just one) would look great on a wall. Imagine chocolate bars. A chocolatier should talk to Kurt. Honest chocolates, come on.

My favourite, this evening, is Happy Content. But next time I look, I might like another one even more.