GROW IT YOURSELF

JAC DE VILLIERS STREETFACNG STUDIO WINDOW: GARDENS, CAPE TOWN

VERITCAL GREEN WALLS, CASA CAMPER,BARCELONA

THE CONCIERGE HOTEL & BUNGALOWS, DURBAN: WALL OF AIR ORCHIDS

I bumped into photographer Jac de Villiers outside his studio on Dunkley Square yesterday. I thought his street-facing cactus window looked lovely so I took a snap. Vertical gardens are a nice idea. The Camper hotel in Barcelona has an interior vertical wall that’s a few storeys high. Big tick for the plant wall done by Neil Roake at his cool Concierge boutique hotel in Durban. These are air orchids (conveniently, they don’t need watering) stuffed into bog-standard plastic pot plant drip trays.

I have a big, tall and very boring old retainer wall at the back of my house. Nobody ever looks at it and nobody goes there. But we might, if we change a few things. I’m just thinking.

2 thoughts on “GROW IT YOURSELF

  1. There is a vertical green wall created by Kate and Nienke nursery at Montebello for a new gallery in Claremont. Vineyard Rd near Vineyard hotel. I will try and take a photo. Louise

    • That sounds interesting. Montebello nursery is one of my favourite places. I’d love to see a shot of it – thanks Louise x

Leave a Reply

