ACCIDENTS HAPPEN

It was supposed to be Mille-Feuille but became Custard Rustica instead. This happened because I was short of the proper ingredients and I bought puff pastry instead of phyllo. I also ran out of time for fiddliness. But you know what. The people liked this last night and came back for more. I might even try it again sometime.

How To:

Take one of these, roll it out as flat as it can go then cut it into three even pieces. Bake until puffy and gold and crispy. Mine went wonky because I accidentally left my oven on grill. We liked the wonkiness.

WOOLWORTHS BUTTER PUFF PASTRY

Sandwich wonky strips together with about a litre of wobbly (not runny) custard. I added a couple of egg yolks and a tub of cream to give the custard a lovely richness.


CREAM THAT WON’T MAKE YOU FAT?

Drizzle on some water icing and sprinkle with castor sugar. That’s it.


Leave a Reply

