THE BOMB

WALLS - MIDAS ENVIROLITE MATT, 'LIGHT P' AND 'ALMOST THERE' (WHITE) Photo: Deborah da Silva

I decided to slap on some ‘Light P’ in my stoep room, inspired by my gran’s cross stitch tablecloth (Sept. 1). Colour blocking is king. Less colour feels more punchy and it doesn’t make you feel all crowded out or short of breath.

I owe Laureen Rossouw of Elle Decoration, for the tip. Laureen used my place for a paint story last year and talked me into colour blocking for my bedroom and living room. I’ve loved living with these colours in my place which is otherwise about 80% white.

Laureen made an interesting point about old houses having a certain formality that absolutely needs to be considered. You can’t go slapping glitter paint over dado rails. And some houses just wanna be white. Finished. Put colour in them and they just spit it out.

The yellow slab in my bedroom has surprised me. It’s impossible to wake up grumpy when this is what you open your eyes to on in the morning. I like how it makes the Gabby Raaff painting kick out. 

And this one. I won’t ever paint over this. Well, not anytime soon. It reminds me of all those beautiful colours and the art directional gorgeousness in Coco Chanel and The Diving Bell & The Butterfly.

PHOTO: ELLE DECORATION

Find more on pink at http://www.freeworlddesigncentre.co.za – “PETTY IN PINK” by LAUREN – 20 JUL. 2011

Leave a Reply

